Saginaw Alumnae Chapter celebrates 55th Charter Anniversary

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

History of the Saginaw Alumnae Chapter

The Saginaw Alumnae Chapter (SAC) is celebrating 55 years of distinguished service and impactful achievement in the Saginaw/Bay community.

Soror Jane McGhee’s efforts to convince 12 young ladies to become charter members culminated with SAC’s chartering on October 28, 1967. Since then, SAC continues to serve and honor the legacy of Sisterhood, Scholarship, Service and Social Action, with a focus on empowering the Saginaw/Bay Community through strategic engagement.

In keeping, SAC’s 2022-2024 biennial theme is “Embracing Sisterhood: 55 Years Elevating, Impacting and Empowering Our Youth and Community.

The twelve dynamic, energetic DST members who were among the Chapter’s founding members included: Sorors Peeti Greene, Bettye Greene, Marise Tabor Hadden, Leomia Kathryn Holt (the first Chapter President), Shirley Lowery, Jane McGhee, Lillian Ollie, Thelma Kirkland Poston, Odahlia Ledford Rance, Lizzie Dillard Robinson, Barbara Walker and Sandra Wilson.

Saginaw Alumnae Chapter

55th Charter Anniversary Affirmation

55th Charter Anniversary Celebration – Photo Gallery

October 22, 2022